Pina Colada Overnight Oats with Blueberries and Almonds

Overnight oats are all the rage right on food blogs right now.  There are tons of different variations, and let me tell you– I am obsessed with them.

The first time I tried, I wasn’t too sure about it– the only way I usually like my oatmeal is in Flourless Oatmeal Pancakes (or cookies), not the mushy stuff in the bowl.  BUT- I found that this recipe is really the perfect breakfast.

I always make these oats before bed, which totally eliminates my need to cook in the mornings!  I’ve been waking up a little bit later before work and just throwing this in my bag along with a spoon.  Since it’s summer where I really appreciate having a cold breakfast– even better that it’s super filling and nutritious!

P.S. These also couldn’t be any easier to make, try it!

Pina Colada Overnight Oats with Blueberries and Almonds
Serves 2

1/2 cup oatmeal
1 tablespoon shredded coconut (I used unsweetened)
1 tablespoon chia seeds
2 tablespoons chopped almonds
1/2 cup almond milk (or soy, rice, hemp, cows etc.)
1/2 cup coconut milk
1 teaspoon honey
1/4 cup fresh blueberries
1/4 cup pineapple chunks

Combine dry ingredients in a mason jar. Cover and shake well (if you combine all the ingredient at once, the chia seeds will not evenly disperse and will form big, sticky clumps throughout your oatmeal).  Add milks and honey, and cover and shake well again.  Refrigerate for at least five hours, and top with blueberries and pineapple chunks to serve.

VARIATIONS: you can go crazy with substitutions for this recipes, but here are some fun ideas!

  • Chocolate Raspberry Almond– Replace all milk with almond milk, omit shredded coconut, add one tablespoon of cocoa powder, replace blueberries and pineapple with raspberries and chocolate chips.
  • Banana Coconut- Replace pineapple with banana, coconut milk with almond milk, top with whipped cream and banana slices
  • Apple Cinnamon- Replace fruit with chopped apples, omit coconut, replace coconut milk with almond milk, add 1/4 cinnamon, omit honey, drizzle with caramel topping

2 thoughts on “Pina Colada Overnight Oats with Blueberries and Almonds

  1. When you say coconut milk are you referring to the canned coconut milk or the carton coconut milk (milk substitute)? Just want to make sure I use the correct ingredients. (if there is even a difference)

Leave a comment