Flourless Oatmeal Pancakes

Every time I complain to my boyfriend about how hard it is to stick to a diet, he first assures me that I look perfect and have nothing to worry about (like any smart man would do)… and then he goes on to tell me about the latest body-enhancing food he read about on BodyBuilding.com, and why I should eat it.   Some of his favorites include peanut butter, eggs, kale, whey protein powder, and omega-3 supplements.  Oatmeal always comes up too– it is one of his favorite staples, because of it’s high fiber content and the fact that it is a “slow releasing carb”, meaning that it will provide you with a steady supply of energy throughout the morning and won’t leave you with hunger pangs or sugar crashes.

He’s been talking about oatmeal basically since I first met him, but I never really joined him on the oatmeal-bandwagon because while I don’t hate it, it’s sort of a weird texture and can be pretty flavorless.  I stumbled across this recipe however (stumbling is how I find all of my recipes, I am a pro-food blog surfer), and when I showed it to him he got so excited about it that I decided I would have to try it too.  And what a great find this was!

These pancakes have a surprisingly great texture and are soft and fluffy like a pancake should be.  The batter takes about 2 minutes to whip up, and is incredibly versatile as far as topping possibilities go.  This morning, I used some maple syrup and banana slices, but next time I might try some peanut butter and dried fruit or maybe just some fresh fruit in it’s natural juices!  Yummy.

Flourless Oatmeal Pancakes
Serves 1

1/2 cup oatmeal (not instant)
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 tablespoon protein powder of choice
1 egg
1/4 cup water/non-dairy milk
splash of vanilla extract

Combine in a bowl and cook on a medium hot griddle or pan, that’s all!  I would recommend cooking it for less time than you think you need to though,  otherwise it will become granola like and will fall apart when you try to eat it.  Try flipping it when the edges are juuuuust about dry, and then cook for 1-2 minutes on the other side.  Serve with your favorite nut butter, maple syrup or fresh fruit.

Recipe from Dairy Free Betty

One thought on “Flourless Oatmeal Pancakes

  1. Pingback: Old-Fashioned Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

