Chocolate Tofu Pie

Given my life-debilitating handicap (lactose-intolerance! I’ve been feeling very sorry for myself during my everlasting hunt for Lactaid cottage cheese), I’m typically very willing to try any recipe that is not chock full of dairy products.  I’ve experimented with a lot of strange sounding ingredients, but I’ve still found that coconut milk and cashew cream usually can’t fill the void that things like cream cheese and butter have left in my life.

I often still miss my cheesecakes, milkshakes and slow-churned ice cream, but I can say with confidence that I’ve found my new guilty pleasure in the form of this delectable, dairy-free treat!

Chocolate tofu pie has a rich chocolate flavor, a cheesecake-ish texture and tastes absolutely divine.  The recipe requires no baking, and is made in a food processor in under 10 minutes. There are only six ingredients, and one of them is tofu… weird right? I threw mine into a vegan oreo crust for an extra chocolate punch, but you can probably do a graham cracker crust, pastry crust… or go crustless and forgo those extra calories!

I found this recipe on Chocolate Covered Katie, and while she loves to share her ingenious recipes with the foodies all over the web, she does ask that other bloggers don’t re-post her recipes on their sites.  I tweaked the name a little bit, she originally called it the Ultimate Chocolate Fudge Pie, but I thought that Chocolate Tofu Pie might be a little bit more enticing for my readers:).  I didn’t change any of the ingredients though, so if you would like to try it for yourself (which I highly recommend), you can find her recipe here!

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Tofu Pie

Leave a Reply

