Lemon-y Lemon Bars

Lemon Bars 1

Happy spring break everyone! I realize I fell off the blogging radar for a bit, but don’t worry because I’m back with an AWESOME lemon bar recipe for you to try.

I was going to lie to you all and say that I was too busy with homework and papers to update PITK, but seriously, when has school ever stopped me from baking?  The truth is, I have been in sort of a baking rut for a while.  Despite the hundreds of recipes I have bookmarked, pinned and favorited on Foodgawker and Tastespotting,  nothing was really catching my interest.  Something must have been seriously wrong with me, right? Anyway, a few days ago, I decided to just pick a recipe and get back into the swing of things… this is what I ended up with!

These lemon bars are actually tart and taste lemony, and it’s because the lemon filling contains a full cup of fresh lemon juice.  My housemates approve– one of them commented that they are some of the best she’d ever had!  If you’re looking to incorporate a little splash of summer into the dreary winter… this is surely the recipe for you :).

Perfect Lemon Bars
Makes one 8×8 pan

Crust
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1/3 cup sugar
1/4 tsp salt
1 tbsp lemon zest
1/2 cup butter, room temperature

Filling
4 large eggs
1 1/3 cups sugar
1 cup lemon juice, freshly squeezed and strained
3 tablespoons flour

Preheat oven to 350F. Line 8×8-inch baking pan with aluminum foil.
Make the crust. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, salt and lemon zest. Cut butter into chunks and add to flour mixture. Blend in with an electric mixer at low speed until mixture forms coarse, sandy crumbs. Pour into pan and press mixture down (with your fingers or the back of a spoon) into an even layer.
Bake for 16-19 minutes, until just lightly browned around the edges.

While crust is baking, make filling. Whisk together all filling ingredients in a large bowl.
When the crust comes out of the oven and is still hot, pour in filling mixture.
Bake for about 20 minutes, or until filling is set and does not jiggle when the pan is gently shaken.
Cool completely before slicing.
Top slices with confectioners’ sugar to serve.

Recipe adapted from baking bites

Lemon Bars 2

8 thoughts on “Lemon-y Lemon Bars

  1. This crust is the most amazing crust!! I’m going to make it for EVERYTHING. 🙂 I ended up making Orange Bars (roommate brought a bunch home) and am so pleased with this recipe!

  2. The crust was great, but I found the lemon part to be VERY sour. I was skeptical at the huge amount of lemon juice, but tried it anyways, only to find that it was very tart. There’s nothing a little more sugar can’t fix, but did anyone else have the same issue?

Leave a comment