Apple Pie Bread

This bread was the product of my attempt to use up all of my perishable foods before going to Singapore for the next three weeks!  I modified the original recipe a bit in order to cram the maximum amount of apples into it and omitted the nuts and raisins completely.  The end result was a moist, chunky loaf of bread with a crunchy, nutty streusel over the top.  This recipe will surely make another appearance in my kitchen come fall.

Today was a great day.  My other best friend, Shannon, came back from studying abroad in the Netherlands last night at 5 pm.  Since my exam ended today at 10 am, we all got together and I finally got to have a girls day with my friends from high school!  We hung around outside, made coconut margaritas and caught up on each other’s lives.  Too bad I have to leave so soon after our reunion!

Don’t worry though, I will not be neglecting PITK during my travels, so expect a post about food in Singapore very soon!

Apple Pie Bread
Makes 1 9×5 in loaf

1/2  cup butter, softened (I used Earth Balance)
1/2  cup granulated sugar
1/2  cup packed brown sugar
1/3  cup buttermilk (for DF use 1/3 c non-dairy milk with 2 teaspoons vinegar)
2  teaspoons baking powder
2  eggs
1  teaspoon vanilla extract
2  cups all purpose flour
1/2  teaspoon apple pie spice
1/2 teaspoon salt
3  cups peeled apples, diced
streusel – nut topping (recipe below)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease the bottom and sides of a 9x5x3 inch loaf pan.  Cream butter and sugars in a large bowl. Add the buttermilk and baking powder; beat until combined. Add eggs and vanilla; beat until combined. Add flour, apple pie spice and salt; then, you guessed it, beat until combined.

Toss the apples and in a bit of flour before adding to the batter. Stir in apples by hand. Spoon batter into prepared pan and spread evenly. Prepare the streusel topping and sprinkle over the batter. Bake for 60 minutes or until a wooden toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean. Cool bread in pan on a wire rack for 10 minutes. Remove from pan and cool completely.

Wrap and store overnight before slicing. (Or you know, eat it as soon as it’s cool enough like I did).

Streusel – Nut Topping

1/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
3  tablespoons flour
2  tablespoons butter, softened
1/3  cup walnuts or pecans, chopped

In a small bowl combine the brown sugar, cinnamon and flour. Using a pastry blender or fork cut in the butter until it resembles coarse crumbs. Stir in walnuts or pecans.

Adapted from BHG 

One thought on “Apple Pie Bread

Leave a comment