Reese’s Coconut Oil Cookies

Image

Last weekend, my friends from home came to visit me in Chicago.  We had a blast. Every day of their trip, we roamed around the city all day doing touristy things– we saw the Bean, the Signature Lounge, went shopping on Michigan Ave, tried great neighborhood restaurants etc (in particular, we ate at Crisp in Lakeview– best Korean fried chicken I’ve ever had.  Has anyone else been?).  And then we went out at night too, taking full advantage of the ones that stay open until 4 am. By the time they left on Sunday, I was so exhausted that I lied on the couch all day and watched movies by myself.

Then, of course, I got sick.  I could barely wake up for work on Monday.  When I made it to the office, it took two whole cups of coffee to get my brain to work.  I got through the day alright, but Tuesday killed me and I ended up leaving halfway through to buy medicine and work from the comfort of my couch.  I was back at work on Thursday, but I clearly still needed to relax and rest up from the weekend before, making this weekend a relaxed one with lots of baking and no bars.

My boyfriend, Mike, and I, watched a football game with another friend on Saturday, and rather than drinking and going to the bar, we decided to make it into a feast.  We picked up Thai food on the way to our friend’s house, and baked the whole morning before the game.  Mike made rice krispy treats (he is the rice krispy expert), and I made these babies.

I think I’ll be using coconut oil in all of my cookies from now on… I discovered recently that when at room temperature, coconut oil can be creamed with sugar just like butter!  So while the cookies may spread a little wider, achieving a chewy, fluffy cookie is totally possible.

 The chunks of Reese’s is really what sends these cookies over the edge.  I recommend refrigerating or even freezing the chopped candy beforehand so it doesn’t crumble into little pieces when you stir it into the batter, and do not even THINK about replacing them with Reese’s Pieces.  Those are not as good.  You’ve been warned.

But do bake these ASAP.  Mike told me that they might be the best cookie I’ve made
yet!

Reese’s Coconut Oil Cookies

Makes 2-3 dozen cookies, depending on size

2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup coconut oil, room temperature
1 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 eggs
16 Reese’s Peanut Butter cups, chopped and refrigerated or frozen

Whisk dry ingredients together and set aside. In a large bowl, cream solid coconut oil with sugars, beating until light and fluffy. Add vanilla and eggs and beat until smooth. Slowly combine flour, baking soda and salt, mixing until just combined. Do not overmix! Take refrigerated/frozen Reese’s and stir in gently. Form dough into 1.5-2″ balls and place on cookie sheet.  Refrigerator for 30 minutes to overnight.  (You must form the balls of dough first, after refrigerated the coconut oil will get very hard and will not be as malleable!)

When ready to bake, preheat oven to 350F. When at the correct temperature, place cookie sheet in oven and bake for 9-12 minutes, or until the edges of the cookies are slightly browned and the centers are soft.  Enjoy!

Coconut Oil Reeses Cookies_

Leave a Reply

