Easy Guacamole + the two key ingredients

Guacamole 1

Last time I made this recipe,  I realized I had about four cups of guacamole to eat before it spoiled… so I offered some to my roommate.  She is great about sharing things with me, so I told her something along the lines of  “I made some fresh guacamole, I have soooo much and there is no way I can finish it by myself, help yourself to as much as you want!” Friendly, right?

Well, my boyfriend happened to be over at that  same time and was listening to the whole exchange. He told me later (with this horribly righteous smirk on his face, of course) that all he could think while I was talking to my roommate was that he has SEEN me eat guacamole and knows for fact that I could finish it by myself just fine. I think he might have used the phrase “you can put it DOWN.”  Hmph.

Slightly embarrassing, yes… but my boyfriend is right and ever since he made that comment I have been noticing that whenever I make guacamole, I find a way to put it on EVERYTHING.  I love the stuff.  I incorporated it into my breakfasts recently by making egg, turkey and guacamole sandwiches on Morning Rounds (Costco, anyone?).  Chips and guac is an obvious one, but I put it on salads, dip vegetables in it… eat it with a spoon… everything!

I didn’t make this recipe from scratch, I sort of combined recipes from Ina Garten and Alton Brown by just taking the parts I like from each.  Cumin, which is one of two secrets of great guacamole, comes from Alton, and fresh lemon juice, which is the other secret, comes from Ina.  Once you make this you will forever be unimpressed with the guac you get at restaurants, enjoy!

Guacamole 2

Easy Guacamole (I am literally writing the recipe from memory because I make it so often)

4-5 ripe, but not mushy avocados
1-2 roma tomatoes (depends on size, your preference), diced
1/2 red onion, diced
1 large clove garlic, minced (I always add more)
1/2 cup cilantro, roughly chopped (optional, adds a nice touch)
3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice (don’t even think about using the bottled stuff!)
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon pepper
1 teaspoon ground cumin

Combine ingredients in a bowl and stir! Easy, right? Guacamole usually tastes best after the flavors have had time to deepen, so try and let this one sit for at least 30 minutes before serving (but don’t worry, I usually can’t wait that long, it tastes great even without sitting too!)

Leave a Reply

