Cheesecake-Swirled Brownies

Cheesecake Brownies 3

Hai. Here is an update on my life.  I graduated from undergrad two weeks ago! I am so relieved to be done.  The constant worry of completing problem sets and writing essays on the weekends was starting to wear me down once the weather started to get nice this year.  Senioritis, anyone?

I found a job about two weeks before graduation, and since then I’ve been cruising through life and enjoying my lazy days before I have to move and begin my big girl job!  Today, for example, I woke up at noon, took pictures of these delightful little brownies, and watched TV with my housemate for three hours.  And I’m not even bored yet!  (I swear I never do this… do I need to make excuses though? Nah.)

I’ll be moving to Chicago in a few weeks to start a new chapter of my life.  I can’t wait. Who knows what sort of new recipe ideas will find me there :).

Anyway, if you are looking for a spiced-up version of your usual brownie recipe, try out these cheesecake-swirled brownies! They are sweet, chocolate-y and surprisingly easy to make.  Yummmm….

Cheesecake Brownies
Makes 16 brownies

Brownie batter-
1/2 cup unsalted butter, cut into pieces
4 oz unsweetened chocolate, chopped
1 cup sugar
2 large eggs
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
2/3 cup all-purpose flour

Cheesecake batter
1 block cream cheese (12 oz)
1/3 cup sugar
1 large egg yolk
1/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Plus
1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Make brownie batter:
Put oven rack in middle position and preheat oven to 350F. Grease an 8×8 baking pan. Heat butter and chocolate in a saucepan over moderately low heat, whisking occasionally, just until melted. Remove from heat and whisk in sugar, eggs, vanilla, and a pinch of salt until well combined. Whisk in flour until just combined and spread in baking pan.

Make cheesecake batter: 
Using an electric together cheesecake batter ingredients in a small bowl until smooth. Dollop over brownie batter, then swirl in with a butter knife or spatula.

If using chocolate chips, sprinkle over the top of the cheesecake marbled brownie batter. Don’t use too much, or this will take away from the pretty swirl effect!

Bake for 35 minutes, or until edges are puffy and center is set. Serve warm or at room temperature, maybe even with scoop of vanilla ice cream :).

Recipe slightly adapted from Smitten Kitchen

Leave a Reply

