Pumpkin Fudge

Hello friends!  It is finally October and although I’m sad to see the warm weather leave for good, I am REALLY excited to begin the transition into fall and winter cooking!  Every year around this time, the cold salads and barbecue fade away from my diet and are replaced by hot soups and hearty stews.  The strawberry shortcakes and frosty drinks turn into pumpkin breads, hot cocoa and apple pies, and all is right in the world.

Today I present to you my first fall-ish recipe of the season, starring my absolute favorite baking ingredient: pumpkin!

I couldn’t wait to try this one– I’ve only ever had chocolate and maple fudge, and I’ve never made it myself.  I heard once that fudge (among other candy recipes) is sort of finicky and easy to mess up, but my mom lent me her candy thermometer, and I’m really happy with how the texture came out!  Unless you are a pro with cooking sugar, I would suggest you invest in a thermometer so you don’t have to risk burnt or non-solidified fudge, and if you just have one on hand, you’ll always be able to make your own!

Pumpkin fudge is just the beginning of a fall pumpkin binge, so brace yourself for pumpkin recipes galore for the entire rest of this month (and maybe November too)!

Pumpkin Fudge
Makes one 9×9 pan

3/4 cup pecans, chopped
1 teaspoon olive oil
pinch of salt
3 cups of sugar
3/4 cup butter
2/3 cup evaporated milk
1/2 cup canned pumpkin puree
2 tablespoons corn syrup
1 teaspoon pumpkin spice
12-oz bag white chocolate chips
1 7-oz container marshmallow cream
1 teaspoon vanilla

Line a 9×9 pan with foil and spray with cooking spray. Pour olive oil into a small frying pan. When oil is nice and hot, add the chopped pecans and sprinkle with salt. Toast for about 5 minutes or until pecans are a darker shade of brown. Set aside.

Melt butter in a medium sauce pan. Add evaporated milk, pumpkin, corn syrup, sugar and pumpkin spice. Stir to combine, bring to a boil over medium heat, stirring constantly. Using a candy thermometer, cook and stir until mixture reaches 234 F or the soft ball stage (once it boils, it should take about 15 minutes to reach this stage). Remove from heat and QUICKLY add the marshmallow cream, white chocolate chips, vanilla and toasted pecans. Stir well and pour into prepared pan. Let the fudge cool for at least 2 hours, cut, and enjoy!

Recipe from Real Mom Kitchen

Leave a Reply

