Mixed-Up Brownie Delight

I know what you’re thinking.  Brownies… how boring.  But just give me a chance.

First off, look at the picture.  See that gooey layer in the middle?  That is peanut butter caramel with white and milk chocolate chips.  I’m serious.  As for the brownie part, there are 2 cups of sugar and 2 sticks of butter in this recipe… how could it not be completely scrumptious?  Someone said this treat is like a turtle sundae wrapped up in a brownie– I thought that was a great description! Be warned though, these are dense and RICH– not the kind of brownies you should be eating an entire pan of by yourself… (perhaps that shouldn’t happen anyway, eh?).  But make them anyway and share with friends!

I used to be kind of famous for mixed-up brownie delight– I made them on every special occasion, and then I eventually forgot about them and lost the recipe :(.  My mom found it somewhere in our basement, and now my favorite recipe can be immortalized forever!  Enjoy!

Mixed-up Brownie Delight
Makes one 9×13 pan

2 sticks butter
4 oz unsweetened chocolate
2 C. sugar
4 eggs
2 t. vanilla extract
1 C. flour
1/3 t. baking powder
1/2 t. salt
12 oz caramels
2 T. smooth peanut butter
1/2 C. evaporated milk
1/2 C. chopped walnuts (optional, I hate nuts in brownies)
1/2 C. white chocolate chips
1/2 C. milk chocolate chips
Preheat oven to 350F. Melt butter and unsweetened chocolate squares; stir to combine. Mix in sugar. Add eggs, one at a time. Stir in vanilla. Add flour, baking powder and salt; mix well. Pour half of batter into a greased 9 x 13-in. baking pan. Bake for 14 minutes.
Heat caramels, peanut butter and evaporated milk, stirring frequently, until melted and combined. Remove brownies from oven; pour caramel mixture over brownies; Sprinkle nuts and white and milk chocolate chips over caramel layer. Pour remaining batter over chocolate chips and bake for 15 minutes. Cool before slicing.

Leave a comment