Blueberry White Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

My dad is a picky eater.  He went to culinary school for French cuisine so he tends to prefer creamy, rich desserts that you would normally see around the U.S..  He loves cheesecake, chocolate cake, ice cream, crumb cake, tarts, donuts and muffins.  There is a long list of things he doesn’t like too: any type of fish, coconut, tofu, soy anything, a bunch of Asian sauces… etc.  I sent a few slices of my Chocolate Tofu Pie to my parents and little brother, and my dad liked it so much that he called me to tell me how good it was.  I told him it was made of tofu and by the next time I saw him he claimed that he only thought it was only “okay”. Do you see what I mean?

When I do manage to find a recipe that Dad likes, I get so excited!  Last time he really liked something I made, I ended up making an entire portion specifically for him.  What can I say? I love praise, especially from a trained chef… it makes me feel extra generous.

Anyway, I’m telling you this story because these cookies are one of the things my father was really impressed by.  At the first bite he furrowed his brow, nodded his head and told me that they had “great flavor”.  He yelled down the hall to tell my mom how much he liked them, and then when he left to go on a walk he warned me to not eat his share of the batch.  So there you have it– a unique, easy cookie recipe that even the pickiest dads will love.

Blueberry White Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies
Makes 2 1/2 dozen small cookies

1/2 cup butter, softened
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 egg
1 1/4 cups all purpose flour
3/4 cup rolled oats
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/8 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 cup white chocolate chunks
1/2 cup fresh blueberries

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line baking sheet with parchment paper or silicone baking mat and set aside. In a large bowl, cream butter and sugars together. Stir in egg and vanilla. Whip until light and fluffy. Stir in all dry ingredients until just incorporated. Carefully stir in chocolate chunks and blueberries. Scoop onto baking sheet and press down lightly to flatten. Bake 7-8 minutes or until the edges are golden brown and the centers are soft, but not shiny. Cool 5 minutes on baking sheet and then transfer to cooling rack. Serve or store in airtight container for up to 4 days.

Recipe from Lauren’s Latest

Leave a Reply

