Easy Kale Salad

Kale is my favorite leafy green vegetable.  Every time I eat it, I just can’t help but feel good about myself. Curiously though, before this salad, I’d never tasted raw kale.  I’ve always eaten it steamed and tossed in some sort of peanut butter or tahini dressing.  This salad is light (but filling), crisp and and can be made in about 5 minutes– what a perfect recipe for the Singapore diet!

Easy Kale Salad
Serves 4-6 (except for I ate this entire salad in two sittings)

One head lacinato/dinosaur kale, or a mix
juice of one lemon
3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
salt and pepper to taste
pinch of red pepper flakes
2/3 cup parmesan cheese (optional)

Remove spines from kale and tear into bite-sized pieces.  Combine lemon juice, olive oil, salt and pepper, red pepper flakes and parmesan cheese if using.  Toss with kale leaves and let sit for 5 minutes to an hour.  Enjoy!

Recipe from Marin Mama Cooks

Leave a Reply

