Avocado Eggs

Princess in the Kitchen is taking a turn for the better.  In my efforts to start (and remain committed to) a summer fitness regime… I decided that I’m gonna have to cut back on the desserts for a while and start eating a lighter, more summer-y diet.  (Dessert bloggers tend to overdo it on the sugar…) From today forward, I will be incorporating (hopefully healthy) non-dessert recipes into my weekly posts!  You will now be able to find recipes and pictures of breakfast, lunch or dinner foods here at PITK! I hope you are as excited as I am.  😀

With that said, I am thrilled to bring to you my most famous and well-loved recipe:  avocado eggs.  I eat these for breakfast at least once a week, and now two of my housemates, my boyfriend, and his mom eat them on a regular basis as well.  So yeah, these are genius.

When I was a baby, my mom was known for feeding me some horrendous looking concoctions.  She has always been very health conscious, especially when it comes to her kids, and was always inventing sneaky ways to feed my  brother and I vegetables and other healthy foods.  To do this, she would usually just mask the taste of the vegetables with foods that we actually liked and were used to eating.  For example, I wouldn’t touch avocado on it’s own, but I was particularly fond of sweet potatoes.  In order to get some healthy fats in me, my mom would mash the two together and spoon feed me her creation.  My dad and grandma made faces and turned up their noses at the diarrhea-colored glop, but I didn’t seem to mind the color and happily gobbled everything up.

Other ways she sneaks healthy foods into our diet (this still occurs, especially with my picky eight-year old brother) include: grating carrots and zucchini into spaghetti sauce, mincing up broccoli and other vegetables until they are basically unrecognizable and mixing it with rice, meat and some sort of broth, and making AVOCADO EGGS!

These are my mom’s most genius combination.  Really.  They are incredible.  They are really quick to make and taste hearty, filling and delicious.  Try them, I promise you will love them!

Avocado Eggs
Serves 1

2 eggs
1/4 avocado, mashed
Olive oil for cooking
Salt and pepper, to taste

Mash 1/4 of an avocado on a plate with a fork.  Combine avocado mash with eggs, and beat with a fork or a whisk until well mixed.  Cook in a non-stick pan over medium to preferred texture.  Serve with toast (or bacon, fruit, more avocados, anything really) and enjoy!

Recipe by my mom

One thought on “Avocado Eggs

Leave a Reply

