Vegan Raspberry Walnut Streusel

Okay. I just came off of a juice fast.  I wanted to cleanse my body of toxins I accumulated from my Wendy’s binge during finals… and I wanted to lose a few quick pounds before my summer diet began (you know, just a little jumpstart for motivation :-D).  I have done other juice fasts in the past, usually for ten days… but this time I cracked at 4 and ate some rice and beans, and then made this.  I was just so bored!  During those four days all I did was sit around and make fresh kale apple  juice and watch TV.  I did lose some weight, and I feel healthier too… but I also realized how much time I actually spend planning meals, looking a food online, or eating!  Heh, let’s just call it passion (not obsession).

Anyway, this streusel is great.  I adapted it from my favorite cookbook ever,Skinny Bitch Ultimate Everyday Cook Book.It was originally a blueberry streusel but I didn’t have any blueberries so I changed it to raspberry and added some walnuts.  Technically, this was included in the breakfast section, but c’mon, it’s cake.  It can be eaten anytime– for breakfast, afternoon tea, dessert, a random snack throughout the day… you get my drift.

But now I need to give it all away so I don’t undo all the progress from my juice fast. Darn.

Vegan Raspberry Walnut Streusel
Serves 10

Cake
2 cups flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
3/4 cup sugar
1/3 cup canola oil
1 cup almond milk
1 tablespoon vinegar (I used apple cider vinegar)
1/2 teaspoon lemon extract
1 cup frozen raspberries

Streusel
1/4 cup flour
1/4 cup sugar
2 tablespoons vegan butter substitute, melted
1 teaspoon lemon or lime juice

Preheat oven to 350F. Spray an 8×8 pan with cooking spray. In a large bowl, mix canola oil, almond milk, vinegar and lemon extract. Let sit for 5 minutes to thicken. While waiting, combine flour, bakign soda, salt, cinnamon and sugar in a medium bowl. Slowly add flour mixture to wet ingredients and combine well. Stir in frozen raspberries and pour into pan.

To make streusel, combine flour, sugar, melted vegan butter substitute and lemon/lime juice (the mixture will be very crumbly). Sprinkle evenly over batter in the pan. Bake for 40-45 minutes, and cool on a wire rack. Serve slightly warm or at room temperature.

Recipe adapted from Skinny Bitch: Ultimate Everyday Cook Book


Pictures by me!

One thought on “Vegan Raspberry Walnut Streusel

  1. Pingback: Vegan Raspberry Walnut Streusel « Princess in the Kitchen | Organic Rapeseed Oil

Leave a Reply

