Coconut Banana Bread

Coconut Banana Bread 4

I’ve been on a quick bread binge lately! I apologize to the quick bread haters out there (do those people exist?), but this is my third bread recipe in a row.  I’ve been feeling a bit lazy when it comes to baking and I just love how easy it is to just whip up a simple batter and dump it all into one pan.  This week, the thought of frosting a messy cake or spooning cookie dough onto a sheet made me shudder, so this coconut banana bread is the result of a compromise between my winter blah’s and my constant need for baked goods around the house.

Maybe some of you remember the last banana bread I made.  “America’s Test Kitchen Banana Bread”… supposedly the best recipe out there? I disagreed. It was a little too plain for me.  I usually need something a bit more special to please my palate– this is the winning recipe right here!  Coconut banana bread is the moistest, most perfect banana bread I’ve had yet.  Yesterday, I tried a slice that was still a bit warm from the oven– it was delightful.  The crunchy outer crust encases a soft, moist and perfectly sweet interior that is laced with bits of sweet coconut flakes.  This morning I couldn’t even stop myself from sneaking half a slice before my breakfast.  Enjoy!

Coconut Banana Bread
Makes one 9×5 loaf

1 cup all purpose flour
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
3 very ripe bananas, mashed
1/2 cup melted organic virgin coconut oil
3/4 cup sugar
2 large eggs, at room temperature
1/3 cup yogurt (I used SO Delicious Vanilla-Flavored Coconut Milk Yogurt)
1 tsp almond extract
3/4 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup + 2 Tbsp sweetened flaked coconut

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and grease a 9 x 5″ loaf pan.

In a medium bowl, combine the dry ingredients: flours, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. In a large bowl, mash the bananas. Add the coconut oil, sugar, eggs, yogurt, almond extract, vanilla extract, and 1/2 cup coconut. Stir the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients until just combined.

Sprinkle 2 Tbsp shredded coconut into the bottom of the greased loaf pan. Transfer the batter into the prepared pan. Bake for 70-80 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.

Recipe from Culinary Adventures in the Kitchen

Coconut Banana Bread 3

One thought on “Coconut Banana Bread

  1. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed the recipe! I’m impressed that you had the willpower to stop at 1/2 a piece before breakfast. I’ve been known to polish off the bulk of a loaf in one sitting…

Leave a Reply

