Spiced Mushroom Quinoa

When you’re trying to eat only “complex carbs”, things can get boring pretty fast.  Brown rice, oatmeal, whole wheat pasta, Ezekiel bread… blah blah blah, blech blech blech.  I’ve been looking for ways to spice things up (literally) and I came up with this recipe.

I tend to like my food more heavily spiced than most people, so if you prefer foods with a little less kick feel free to cut the spices in the recipe in half. Or if you are a spice-maniac– double them! Either way, this quinoa is a nice side to any sort of meat or vegetable.  I’ve been keeping a container of it in my fridge so I can just toss some baked chicken in for a lunch on the fly.

Spiced Mushroom Quinoa
Serves 4

5 mushrooms, chopped (I used baby bellas)
2 cups of quinoa, cooked
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon oregano
1/2 teaspoon chili powder
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1/4 teaspoon salt
oil, for sauteing
Heat oil in a pan on medium heat. Cook mushrooms until tender, and turn off heat. Add quinoa and spices to the pan, mix thoroughly.

Recipe by me

Leave a Reply

