Carrot Cake Protein Bars

I was reading through some old entries and realized how often I talk about new diets I’m trying or how I’m watching what I eat so I can get in shape for summer or Singapore or something.  Yet I still manage to post new desserts every week, hmmm….

Anyway, these carrot cake protein bars are the product of two things in my life.  The first is that my mom bought a bunch of bags of Sunwarrior Brown Rice Protein Powder and it tastes a bit chalky in smoothies so we’ve both been looking for ways to use it.  The second is that I’m trying a new high protein diet (you had to have known that was coming) where I eat 5-6 meals per day.  This recipe comes from Jamie Eason,  a famous fitness model, and it is perfect for a mid afternoon snack to hold you over until dinner.

These are pretty good tasting.  They pack 10 grams of protein per serving (2 squares) but contain only 94 calories.  Not bad!  Will make again.

Carrot Cake Protein Bars
Makes 16 bars

1 cup oat flour (can make your own, grind oatmeal in a food processor)
2 scoops vanilla whey protein powder (I used Vanilla Sunwarrior Brown Rice Protein)
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon allspice
1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
4 egg whites (or 8 tablespoons of Eggbeaters)
3/4 cup Splenda, Truvia or Ideal
8 oz baby food carrot puree (I made my own, boiled chopped carrots and blended in food processor with some water)
4 oz water

Preheat oven to 350F. In a small bowl combine oat flour, protein powder, cinnamon, baking soda, salt, allspice and nutmeg; set aside. In another bowl, combine egg whites, sugar substitute, carrot puree and water.  Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix until just combined.  Pour into a greased 8×8 pan and bake for 20-30 minutes.  Cool completely before serving, store in an airtight container in the fridge.

Recipe from BodyBuilding.com

3 thoughts on “Carrot Cake Protein Bars

  1. Oh my goodness! Amazing article dude! Thank you so much, However I am experiencing troubles with your RSS.

    I don’t understand why I am unable to join it. Is there anybody else having the same RSS problems? Anybody who knows the answer can you kindly respond? Thanx!!

Leave a Reply

