Foil Baked Lemongrass Lime Chicken

I’m back from Singapore, and also back to cooking for myself again- yay!  In my time spent recovering from crossing  over multiple time zones, I’ve been researching new ways to cook meat and fish.  Because I spend so much time making and experimenting with desserts and vegan food, I haven’t been that creative with chicken, beef and fish in the past… so, here is my first recipe!

I got the idea for this recipe from a Singaporean food blog (somewhere on the web, sadly I’ve lost the link!), and thought it was a  genius combination.  Since fresh lemongrass is not too easy to find on this side of the world, I had to improvise a bit.  What I came up with was a flavorful and easy recipe for those nights that you really just don’t feel like putting a lot of effort into cooking.  For my lunch today, I paired the chicken with brown rice, sauteed zucchini and iced jasmine green tea (my favorite drink in Singapore).  It was a delicious and healthy meal!

Foil Baked Lemongrass Lime Chicken
Serves 2

1 chicken breast
1 tablespoon lemongrass paste (can use fresh, but I used this, which I found at Kroger)
Juice from half a lime
Salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 400F.  Slice chicken breast and place on a sheet of foil.  Rub chicken with lemongrass paste, and sprinkle on a little bit of salt and pepper.  Fold foil over chicken and bake for 30 minutes.  When done, open foil, pour out juices into the sink, and top with lime juice.  Serve with rice, salad or steamed vegetables!

Recipe by me!

Leave a Reply

