Rosemary Chipotle Roasted Almonds

I don’t even really like nuts.  I was always the kid who would make disgusted faces when I accidentally found nuts in my cookie or brownie .  At Michigan basketball games, my parents loved to buy these cinnamon sugar roasted almonds as a snack.  They were okay (I mean, they were basically encased in a cocoon of sugar and cinnamon, how could I really dislike them?), but I would much rather have had a candy bar, some ice cream, or something like that.

But–I really, really, really like these.   They’re sooooo addicting.

I got the idea to make some roasted nuts because I have been struggling really hard to not make desserts during my Singapore diet.  I wanted to bake, I wanted something to snack on… so why not make something healthy, but kind of boring, into something flavorful and exciting?

Almonds are a great snack.  They have lots of heart  healthy fats and are loaded with magnesium, vitamin E and manganese.  I’m not sure how much unnecessary fat and salt is added in with all the seasonings and stuff, but I’m gonna stick with the idea that they are way, way better for you than say, double chocolate fudge brownies, or peanut butter cookie sandwiches.

This recipe is easily doubled, tripled or even quadrupled!  Just make sure you leave enough space on the pan to lay the almonds in a single layer.  Enjoy!

Rosemary Chipotle Roasted Almonds
Makes one cup of almonds

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 teaspoon chipotle seasoning (I used salt-free Mrs. Dash Southwest Chipotle)
1 tablespoon fresh rosemary, finely chopped + pinch more after roasting
pinch cayenne or chili powder, to taste
pinch salt, to taste
pinch black pepper, to taste
1 cup almonds (I used raw, but whatever you have on hand should work)

Preheat oven to 325F.  Combine all ingredients except for the almonds in a bowl and mix.  Add the almonds to the oil and spice mixture, and toss to combine.  Spread almonds in a single layer on a parchment, foil, or Silpat-lined cookie sheet (for easier cleanup) and roast for 15-20 minutes until lightly toasted, or until desired toasting and browning level is reached.  Allow to cool slightly and serve.  Top with a pinch more of finely chopped rosemary after roasting, if desired.  Will keep in an airtight container or jar for week(s).

Double, triple, or quadruple recipe as desired if making for a party or making extra in advance for leftovers, snacks and lunch boxes, for gifts, etc.

Recipe from Averie Cooks

One thought on “Rosemary Chipotle Roasted Almonds

Leave a Reply

