Chocolate White Chocolate Chip Cookies

I vowed not to make any desserts until I go to Singapore, but… it’s been a pretty stressful/eventful week and baking is therapeutic for me, so I caved.

I’ll have you know though, that I have demonstrated some outrageous self control (by my standards, anyway) and have only eaten one cookie.  The plan is to give all the rest to my friends that begged me to bake for them when I randomly saw them at the bar last weekend.  Yeah– go me.

I promise I will get a new cookbook soon but these are again, from Skinny Bitch: Ultimate Everyday Cookbook.  They are crispy on the outside, soft and chewy on the inside, and VEGAN! Yay!

They are easy peasy, and oh so good.  Try it with peanut butter (idea credit to Britta)!

Chocolate White Chocolate Chip Cookies
Makes 25-30 cookies

1 1/4 cups flour
1/2 cup cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons cornstarch (or arrowroot powder)
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup oil
1/2 cup almond milk
2/3 cup white chocolate chips (vegan)
2/3 cup chopped nuts of your choice (I used walnuts)

Preheat oven to 350F.  In a medium bowl, sift flour and cocoa powder.  Add baking soda, baking powder, salt, cornstarch and mix well.

In a large bowl, combine sugars, oil and milk.  Add dry mixture in two parts and mix until combined.  Stir in white chocolate chips and nuts, then let sit for 15 minutes so dough can thicken up.

Drop tablespoon-sized balls of dough onto a cookie sheet.  Leave about two inches in between each ball, the dough will spread.  Bake for 8-10 minutes.  Let hot cookies sit on cookie sheet for 5 minutes before transferring to wire rack.

Enjoy!

Recipe from Skinny Bitch: Ultimate Everyday Cookbook

Leave a Reply

