Grilled Salmon with Sweet Soy Glaze

Yesterday I went home to have dinner at my parent’s house.  My mom didn’t have much food around the house, so she picked up some steaks and salmon and declared we would have a grill night.  I don’t have a grill at my campus house so this was especially nice– grilling just makes me feel like it is summer.  I helped my mom choose a recipe for the salmon, and my dad taught me the proper way to grill a piece of fish (you leave the skin on and don’t flip it).   What great family bonding time.

Visiting my parents is always nice because it is much nicer there than at my house.  They have a grill, air conditioning, unlimited food… a garden…!

This is my brother. I was snapping some pictures around my backyard and this was the only decent picture I managed to get of him. (He is still learning to smile and pose properly for pictures).

Grilled Salmon with Sweet Soy Sauce Glaze 
Serves 5-6 

1 1/2 pounds salmon fillet
4 garlic cloves, minced
1/3 cup soy sauce
1/3 cup brown sugar
2 tbsp fresh lemon juice
1/4 cup olive oil
salt and freshly ground black pepper

Season salmon all over with salt and pepper.  In a small bowl create the marinade by mixing soy sauce, brown sugar, lemon juice, garlic and olive oil, until the sugar is completely dissolved.  Coat salmon with the soy sauce mixture, place it in a large casserole dish and refrigerate for at least 2 hours, turning the salmon once.
Preheat grill for cooking over medium heat.  Lightly oil the grill rack. Place salmon on the preheated grill and cook the salmon for about 8 minutes on each side until cooked through.  Remove from grill and serve immediately.Serve along rice, fresh steamed or grilled veggies or roasted potatoes.
(^ This is one of the more typical of John’s picture poses.)
Leave a Reply

