Avocado and Pinto Bean Enchiladas

I am not a vegan.  I love meat (although I am pretty un-creative when it comes to cooking it), eggs and bacon are my favorite breakfast and I wouldn’t give up milk chocolate for anything.    Yet, a lot of my recipes on this blog are vegan.  Why?  Because here is how I feel about “regular cookbooks”:  every time I pick up a non-vegan cookbook, I have to scan for recipes that contain zero lactose, and I usually end up being able to actually eat, maybe, 25% of the recipes in the book.  I’ve noticed that a lot of people don’t know this,  but when you are lactose intolerant you can’t eat anything that contains milk, butter, yogurt, cheese or buttermilk.  (I still am surprised when my friends tell me that it’s okay, I can go to the ice cream shop with them because they sell frozen  yogurt too… urr).  That usually cancels out casseroles, creamy soups, vegetable dips, a lot of salads (think, caprese), noodles with cheese or cream sauce, most desserts, and, you guessed it… enchiladas.

Anyway, my mom emailed me this recipe a few days ago, and I was ecstatically happy to have a new non-dairy entree to make.  Next time I make this, I’ll probably omit the cashews and replace them with tofu or chicken or something– the hard, crunchy texture was a little weird inside the gooey, meltiness of the enchilada.  Also, I’ll half the recipe because I am the only person I cook for, and there is no way I can finish 10 enchiladas all by myself. (I’ve been eating them for lunch and dinner for 4 days now…  heh).

Avocado and Pinto Bean Enchiladas
Makes 8-10 enchiladas, serves 4

9 -10 corn tortillas (6 inches each)
1/2 – 1 tbsp olive oil
1 cup onions, thinly sliced
1 tsp mild chili powder
1/2 tsp cumin powder
1/4 tsp allspice
1/4 tsp sea salt
freshly ground black pepper to taste
2 – 2 1/2 cups white button mushrooms, sliced
1 can (14 oz) pinto beans, rinsed and patted dry
1/2 c raw cashew pieces
2 tbsp freshly squeezed lime juice
2 medium avocados, peeled and pitted (about 1 – 1 1/2 cups)
1 1/4 tsp sea salt
1 jar (14.5 oz) prepared enchilada sauce (about 1 3/4 cups)
3/4-1 cup prepared chili sauce
3/4-1 cup vegan cheese, grated (ex: Daiya; optional)
1/2 c fresh cilantro leaves, chopped (optional)

Preheat oven to 400.  Place tortillas in a 8×12 inch baking dish, cover tightly with aluminum foil, and place in oven to soften for 5-10 minutes while preparing filling.

In a frying pan on medium heat, add oil, onions, chili powder, cumin, allspice, salt, and pepper and saute for 2-3 minutes.  Increase heat to medium-high, add mushrooms, beans, and cashews and saute for 5-6 minutes, tossing once to twice.  Immediately toss in lime juice and remove from heat to slightly cool.

In a large bowl, mash avocado and salt – this can be chunky.  Add veggie saute and lightly mix to incorporate.

In a separate bowl, mix enchilada and chili sauces.

Remove tortillas from oven, transfer to a plate, and cover with a tea towel to keep warm.

In the same baking dish, pour half of sauce evenly over bottom.  Place 1/4-1/3 cup avocado-veggie mixture in center of each tortilla.  Roll tortillas up, tucking in sides as you go, and place seam side down in baking dish.  Pour remaining sauce over top, and cover with aluminum foil.

Bake for 16-18 minutes, then uncover and bake for another 4-5 minutes, until bubbling around edges.  If adding cheese, sprinkle on after casserole has baked for 15 minutes, then baking uncovered for another 6-7 minutes to melt cheese.  Sprinkle with cilantro and serve.

Recipe from eat, drink & be vegan

Leave a Reply

