Homemade Salsa

This is a recipe for all my sorority sisters and college friends out there.

We all know that in college, there are a few staple foods that get you through the week.  No one really wants to cook elaborate meals in between class and studying (that is valuable time that could be spent watching TV, painting your nails, going to the bar, etc).  The number one staple is obviously Ramen, but things like Easy Mac, peanut butter and jelly and scrambled eggs are pretty high on that list as well.  Among my friends, tortilla chips and salsa is a favorite too.

I usually don’t care for store bought salsa, so one night I decided to whip up some of my own to go with the big bag of tortilla chips that I’d just bought myself.  I tried a couple of different recipes–some call for jalapeno peppers, others ask for serrano peppers… I even  found one recipe that asks for a couple tablespoons of olive oil (gross).  Also, I definitely prefer the chunky, pico de gallo type salsas, so I decided to chop my ingredients instead of run them through a food processor.  This recipe is a fusion of what I liked in all the recipes I tried, and what I ended up with was a really easy, really cheap, REALLY good fresh salsa.

Easy Homemade Salsa
Makes 2-2.5 cups of salsa

3 tomatoes, diced
1/2 cup chopped, fresh cilantro
1/2 cup chopped red onion (white onion can be used too)
2 serrano peppers, finely chopped (it was pretty spicy with two, reduce to one if you are a wimp like that)
2 cloves of garlic
1/2-1 teaspoon sea salt (start with a 1/2 teaspoon and add more to taste)
2 teaspoons lime juice (fresh is best, but bottled will work in a pinch)

Combine all ingredients in a bowl and toss.  Chill in the fridge for an hour so the flavors can meld, and serve with guacamole and tortilla chips (or eat it with a spoon! it’s like a spicy, fresh salad).

Recipe adapted from AllRecipes

Leave a Reply

