Southern Red Velvet Cupcakes


Red Velvet Cupcakes 3

Okay, so, the first time I made this, my red velvet wasn’t very red.  I’ve never even tasted a red velvet cake before, let alone made one, so we can let that one slide, right?  It still tasted A-M-A-Z-I-N-G.  With that said,  I don’t exactly have any prior knowledge of red velvet to compare this recipe to, so instead of telling you how it is the best cake I’ve ever had and how you should just trust me on it, I’m going to leave you with some input from the blog, Divas Can Cook, the site I found this recipe on:

“OK OK I’VE HEARD YOU! YOU WANT A GOOD RED VELVET CAKE RECIPE AND YOU WANT IT NOW!!!! (Yeah I’ve got your emails lol. I love you guys!)

I have been on the search for the best homemade red velvet cake recipe for a while now. I wanted one that was easy,  super moist, melt-in-your mouth soft with that signature light chocolaty red velvet taste.

I’ve tried a few recipes that were…OK.  Nothing that really blew my stilettos off though. Until I played around with merging three recipes (God I love Chemistry) and out came THE MASTERPIECE!!!”

So there you have it. A recipe for a masterpiece red velvet cake, from an expert on red velvet cakes.  She is even southern!  There is buttermilk AND vinegar in these cupcake, so it makes each bite extra, extra soft and moist.  The hot coffee helps to deepen the chocolate touch, and adds to the softness of the cake as well.  Obviously my first red velvet experience has been a good one :).

Red Velvet Cupcakes 1

Anyway, I made this cake for my best friend’s 21st birthday.  Her name is Britta, and her birthday was actually on April 29th, but we didn’t get to celebrate together because she was studying abroad in Spain at the time.  This was really sad… because birthdays are a really big deal to us.  You know, we start counting down 30 days before and tell everyone every day after that our birthdays are getting closer… (that’s normal right?), and then we celebrate for an entire birthday week!

I was really sad I wouldn’t be able to help her ring in the big 2-1, but I knew she would have fun, she was in Europe after all!  But then I heard… she didn’t get a proper cake! Something happened where her friends bought her a cake the day of, and then came back from the bars and finished the whole thing before she had even gotten a chance to eat her share.   I felt so bad when she told me that, and I knew I would have to make her a cake myself.  Happy 21st Britta!


Red Velvet Cupcakes
Makes 28 cupcakes

2 cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon of baking soda
1 teaspoon of baking powder
1 teaspoon of salt
2 Tablespoon of unsweetened, cocoa powder
2 cups sugar
1 cup vegetable oil
2 eggs
1 cup buttermilk
2 teaspoon of vanilla
1-2 oz. red food coloring (put more than you think you would need! I didn’t put enough so mine if just brownish)
1 teaspoon of white distilled vinegar
1/2 cup of prepared plain hot coffee (don’t skip this ingredient)

Preheat oven to 325. Line cupcake pan with paper liners (I would not suggest forgoing the liners, this cake is sticky).
In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, baking powder, cocoa powder and salt. Set aside.
In a large bowl, combine the sugar and vegetable oil. Mix in the eggs, buttermilk, vanilla and red food coloring until combined.

Stir in the coffee and white vinegar. Combine the wet ingredients with the dry ingredients a little at time, mixing after each addition, just until combined. Spoon the batter evenly into each cupcake bowl.

Bake in the middle rack for 18-20 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. Do not over bake as cake will continue to cook as it cools. Let cool on a cooling rack until the pan is warm to the touch. Remove the cupcakes from the pan and let them cool on a wire rack. Frost the cake with your favorite cream cheese frosting recipe when the cakes have cooled completely.

Recipe from Divas Can Cook

Red Velvet Cupcakes 2

3 thoughts on “Southern Red Velvet Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

