Orange Scones

I have big news.  I got a new camera!  Instead of a point and shoot or my phone camera, I am now the proud owner of a Nikon D70s. :).  I got it yesterday at 7 pm… and obviously the real reason I made these scones was so I could practice taking pictures with my new toy!  I’m sure there will be much more to come… I’m so excited!

Anyway, here’s the deal on the scones.  This recipe comes from Skinny Bitch: Ultimate Everyday Cookbook by Kim Barnouin.  Her recipes work and this is no exception.  I ran out and bought some orange extract to make these, and they are even better than the scones you get from Starbucks.  These are vegan,  flavorful, and have the perfect texture.

Orange Scones
Makes 8 scones

2 cups flour
1/2 cup white sugar, plus 1 tablespoon
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/2 cup orange juice, plus 1 tablespoon
1 teaspoon orange extract (I wouldn’t advise skipping this ingredient)
1 tablespoon orange zest, grated
1/2 cup vegan butter substitute, room temperature (I used Earth Balance)

Preheat the oven to 350F. In a large bowl, mix the flour, 1/2 cup sugar, baking powder and soda, salt and nutmeg. In a small bowl, whisk together 1/2 cup orange juice, the orange extract and orange zest. Add to flour mixture and mix well until combined (it will be crumbly at this point). Add the vegan butter substitute and mix well.

Lightly flour a flat surface and need the dough for about a minute. Form the dough into a ball and shape into a small pizza crust shape, gently flattening down the dough to desired thickness (mine were about 1.5 inches thick). Cut the dough in to 8 wedges and place each piece on a baking sheet. Use a pastry brush, or fingers, to cover the dough with the remaining 1 tablespoon of orange juice. Sprinkle with remaining 1 tablespoon of sugar. Bake for 15 minutes, cool on a wire rack.

Recipe from Skinny Bitch: Ultimate Everyday Cookbook

Pictures by me! 

Leave a comment