Peanut Butter Cookie Sandwiches (and Happy Mother’s Day!)

To all mothers out there, happy mother’s day!  You all deserve to have a relaxing day with the people that love and appreciate you the most.  Especially my mom, I love you so much!

Now, for all of you that need to show your mothers some appreciation, let me share with you a recipe that will put a smile on your mom’s face, guaranteed.  Even if your mother isn’t a peanut butter cookie fiend, this recipe is the real deal.

Peanut butter cookies usually aren’t my first choice for dessert.  Most of the time, I find them to be unreasonably dense or too crumbly and dry.  Sometimes it’s like biting into a solidified mound of peanut butter.  Other times, they resemble what I imagine saw dust held together with glue would taste like.  So I just prefer to indulge in things that I know will taste good.  Like cheesecake. Or donuts.  Or cinnamon rolls.

But these cookies are a different story.  The brown sugar in the cookies make them chewy (like chocolate chip cookies… sort of) and the shortening makes them astoundingly soft and light, which in unusual in peanut butter recipes!   The frosting is the perfect addition, and also makes them highly addicting!  I found that the filling of a lot of the cookie sandwich recipes just contain powdered sugar and peanut butter… but that sounded a bit too heavy for my taste, so I was excited to find this recipe had a lighter, creamier filling.

These cookie sandwiches are a bit time consuming to make, but totally worth it in the end.  I gave my mom a big box for Mother’s Day, and they were a hit with my whole family.  Mom liked them, and John and Dad liked them a little too much.  Unfortunately I think my dad has finished half the container already… so next time I will make sure to bake something with coconut (both the men in my family avoid it like the plague) so she can enjoy her gift all by herself.

Peanut Butter Sandwich Cookies 
Makes about 4 dozen cookie sandwiches

Cookies
1 cup butter flavored Crisco (I used regular, non-butter flavored Crisco and my cookies were great!)
1 cup creamy peanut butter
1 cup sugar
1 cup packed brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
3 eggs
3 cup flour
2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 t salt
Additional white sugar for rolling
Filling
1 cup creamy peanut butter
1/2 cup real butter, softened (I used Earth Balance)
4 cup powdered sugar
2 teaspoon vanilla
3-4 tablespoons milk (I used almond milk)
To make the cookies:
Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
Cream shortening, peanut butter, and sugars together until light and fluffy, 1-2 minutes. Add in vanilla, and eggs one at a time. In a separate bowl whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt and add to dough. Mix to combine. The dough will be very soft- that’s normal!
Roll dough into 1/2 inch (or a little larger) balls (seriously though, these babies spread like no other), roll in sugar, place on ungreased cookie sheet and do the little forky criss-cross thing.
Bake for 6-8 minutes, or until puffed and set, but not browned.  Remove from oven, let cool on baking sheet for 2-3 minutes and then transfer to cooling rack.
To make the frosting:
Beat peanut butter, butter, sugar, and vanilla together until smooth, if needed, add milk until desired consistency is reached.  When cookies are completely cooled, spread a layer of frosting on one side and sandwich together.

Recipe from Our Best Bites


Pictures by me!

Leave a Reply

