Apple Pie Bars

Apple pie bars are a cross between apple pie and blondies, with a heavier emphasis on the blondie part. Upon the first bite,  you will recognize the hearty, buttery, flour-y flavor of your traditional blondie, but then your mouth will rejoice when it registers the glorious, summer-y touch from the apple chunks and butterscotch.  How did I never think to combine the two flavors?  I didn’t realized how much I love to bake with apples until I began this blog… apple pies, apple muffins, apple cakes… there are so many ways to incorporate apples into dessert!

I’ve been baking so much lately that my housemates accused me of trying to fatten them up, especially after they found out my “healthy” garbanzo bean balls contain over 250 calories a cookie!  Their suspicion didn’t stop them from devouring half of the pan in one night though.  Their feedback was mostly “oh my god” and “mmmmm”– they were pretty busy cramming their mouths.   I sent a few bars home to my parents too.  My dad told me that they are “out of this world” good.  Yup… you’re welcome.

Apple Pie Bars

1 cup vegetable oil
2 cups sugar
3 eggs
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon nutmeg
3 large Granny Smith apples, peeled, cored, and finely diced
1 cup butterscotch chips

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Grease a 13×9 baking dish. Using a stand mixer, beat the oil, sugar, and eggs until fully combined (about 2 minutes).  The mixture should be thick and pale yellow. Sift together the flour, baking powder, salt, baking soda, and spices.  Add to the sugar mixture in the mixer and beat until completely combined.

Using a sturdy spoon or spatula, fold in the apples.  The batter should be very thick. Scrape the batter into the prepared pan and scatter the top with butterscotch chips.  Bake in the preheated oven for 45 minutes – 1 hour, or until a toothpick comes out with only a few, moist crumbs attached.  Be careful not to over-bake.  Let cool slightly on a wire rack.  Serve the bars warm or at room temperature.

Recipe from A Beautiful Mess


Pictures by Emily- check out her portfolio

6 thoughts on “Apple Pie Bars

  1. Pingback: Apple Pie Bars | *bespoke* zine

  2. I’m very interesting in cooking. I’m from Russia, where pies are the symbol of hospitality. Your recipe is fragrant. I think that’s why cinnamon, which I like and always use in cooking biscuits and pies. Thank you)

Leave a Reply

