Baked Chocolate Donuts with Orange Glaze

I ordered a donut pan online and it finally came in the mail yesterday.  I’d just finished taking my last final, and even though I was running on only 3.5 hours of sleep, I was so excited about my new toy that I headed to the kitchen right away to make some post-exam treats.

I was excited about this recipe, but also kind of skeptical… I mean, BAKED donuts?  There is something about deep-frying that makes me imagine a hearty, mouth-watering flavor that no oven could ever beat… but I was wrong.  These donuts are magical.  They are super flavorful and have the perfect crumbly-but-moist donut texture.   The second I tasted it, millions of other flavor combinations flew through my head: pumpkin, coconut, coffee, maple… I could mix and match different cake flavors with unique glazes and pretty sprinkles and have a donut extravaganza right in my kitchen!  And it’s okay because these are baked, not fried, so they are healthy, right? Right.

Chocolate Donuts with Orange Glaze
Makes 12 donuts

1 cup soy milk
2 teaspoons vinegar
1 1/2 cups flour
1/2 cup dark cocoa powder
1 cup sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp salt
2 eggs
2 tsp vanilla
3 Tbs vegan butter substitute, melted

Blood Orange Glaze

2 Tbs vegan butter substitute, melted
2 Tbs corn syrup
3 cups powdered sugar
1/4 cup freshly squeezed orange juice
2 Tbs full fat coconut milk

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. Spray a donut pan with cooking spray. Add two teaspoons of vinegar to soy milk and set aside to sit for 10 minutes.  In a medium sized bowl combine all of the dry ingredients.  In a separate bowl, add the soy milk and vinegar mixture, eggs and vanilla. Beat them together and add them to the dry ingredients.  Add the melted butter to the batter and mix until a batter has formed.

Spoon or pipe the batter into the donut pan and bake at 325 F for 10 minutes.

Turn the donuts out onto a cooling rack and let the donuts cool. While the donuts are baking, make the glaze by whisking everything together. When the donuts have cooled, dip them into the glaze. (I triple dunked them!) Eat immediately or let them rest while the blood orange glaze sets up.

Adapted from Heather Cristo Cooks

Pictures by Emily- check out her portfolio!

Leave a Reply

