Fail Recipe- Vegan Vanilla Green Tea Tapioca Pudding

I didn’t really plan on mentioning this on my blog, but I was thinking about it more today and it’s actually kind of a funny story.

My latest recipe find was for a vegan tapioca pudding. It looked so great- I love to experiment with textures and flavors, and I was excited about making something a little bit different and lactose-free. I suspect this could have been good… if I didn’t completely botch the whole thing.

This all happened last night.  The first part of the recipe asks you to prepare the tapioca pearls… simple enough– soak in water, simmer a little bit, put in the fridge to chill, and done. Then, you need to create the pudding base, combine the coconut milk, agar agar flakes and the vanilla bean.  Well, it just so happens that the agar agar powder I have is colored PINK. It was a really pretty color in the pot, but when I added the matcha powder and put everything in the food processor it turned an awful vomit-green color with pink chunks speckled throughout.  I really wish I’d thought thought to take a picture at that point… it was quite funny and really, really unappetizing.

Anyway, I don’t know what I did wrong, but the solidified pudding base just wouldn’t blend into a smooth consistency, so when I stirred in the tapioca it basically turned into a pudding with big flavorless pink chunks scattered throughout the mixture… yum (sarcasm).  I also didn’t realize that this recipe doesn’t ask for any sugar, which may be good for the more health-conscious cooks out there, but it was quite the shock when I helped myself to a heaping spoonful of goop, and then realized what the missing ingredient was.  Despite the awful color, my boyfriend was brave enough to dip a finger into the pudding and taste it– judging by his facial expression, he definitely thought it was disgusting.  I’m sure you could have guessed this, but the rest of the pudding ended up in the trash (and it really, honestly, looks like someone barfed in there).

So there is my story.  If anyone manages to make this successfully/has any tips for me, I would love to hear about it!

xo,

Melissah

Leave a Reply

